Orientation to DTS

Up and at it early in the morning! I am settling in well and anticipating the first day in the classroom.  We are using a Sunday school room in a local church around 15 minutes from the base called St. Agnes.


Wilson, the founder, came to share with us the history of YWAM Durban and how he followed God and fully relied on Him to help set the base up.  The story was touching, hearing how much time and patience went into creating what we now have. Wilson told us that they have been praying for all the nations since they first began. I was able to take part in praying for the nations that do not know Jesus Thursday morning. As I lay on the huge map of the world on the ground, with my hand stretched out to touch Northern Africa I was moved by the feeling of pain and suffering I could tell was in the area.  We prayed for protection and comfort over the people.

We learned about how God speaks to us through our love languages and learning styles • mine are quality time and visual learning.  Grace, one of my leaders, talked to us about the theology of exercise and how God created our body to move and we should honour him by using this gift • starting Monday, our first day of classes, some of us will be starting this practice by running in the mornings. Please pray for me as I try to discipline myself in this area (haha!).  We learned about hospitality around the house and respecting each other and other cultures.  Tanya Muzama, one of the friends and speakers at YWAM Durban, walked us through African culture including some common Zulu • Yebo, Sawubona, Sanibona, Ubuntu and Ngiyabonga.  Kirsten, my leader Ben’s wife, talked to us about the importance of vulnerability and journaling.  I felt especially drawn to what Kirsten had to say because journaling had never been something that I regularly did but after discussing it, I feel that it will help me a lot in the future.  We also learned about the foundational values of YWAM which is going to be looked at all throughout the DTS. Lastly, Ben told us some more details about the DTS and what discipleship is all about.

The tears have already come in class and I’ve warned everything that I’m a crier. This was only orientation and it’s already getting intense. I am nervous and excited for all that is going to come over the next six months.


Now this was a lot of information to take in but after only three days in the classroom I already feel like I’m growing.  The nerves about being in a new place are beginning to go away and comfort zones are starting to increase, which I’m going to have to break.  This was one of the reasons I came and I am excited to see how God uses that desire.

On my first evening after class we had a welcome party to get to know each other better. We had a Braai (which is an African style bbq).  It was delicious but different than anything I’ve had before!  There was sausage and chicken along with lots of side dishes, all which are nothing like typical American dishes. It was a great way to see the culture in South Africa and get to know everyone.


We were challenged to an amazing race competition around Kloof to get to know our neighbourhood better.  As we ran around the neighbourhood we were able to talk to lots of local people who were so friendly and willing to give us directions. It was lots of bonding and a lot of fun.


I am so happy that every single one of the DTS students are very musical. With two guitars and the five of us, worship has been a blast.  Amazing that from all over the world we know the same songs.

We are all getting along so well and I’m grateful to say that I already have new friends from all over!

The weekend came fast! We went on a tour of Durban with Rehan, who is making our dinners for the next month and staying with us at the base. We went to the beach and explored the beautiful down town Durban.


I’m starting to fall in love with this country and the people in it the more that I see.

We went to the mall to buy some of the things we needed and to explore. It was larger than any mall I have ever been in!

Sunday morning we went to St. Agnes for their church service. Worship was amazing and Pete, the pastor at the church, talked about Zaccheus and his dedication to wanting to see Jesus. It touched me because I want to get to the place where I have no shame in embarrassing myself for the glory of God.

The food has been amazing, some American style meals and others more typical of here in South Africa.  We make our own breakfast and lunch and are spoiled with delicious dinners made for us.

It is just coming out of winter here in Durban so it is quite chilly most days. It’s rainy season so I’m getting good use out of my rain jacket, but I think I’ll be more thankful for this period of cold later on when we’re boiling hot.

Next week is the beginning of week one of the DTS! Exciting stories to come.

8 thoughts on “Orientation to DTS

  1. Great to hear how God is using you and opening new opportunities. Stay open to his Will and He will bless you. We so love Sourh Africa and our time we had there the last 2 years. Love hearing about the Braai, we enjoyed them as it creates a great time of interaction, unlike here in Canada. We have fond memories of Durban. Blessings and continued prayers.

    Like

  2. From Pap & Grandma: Good on you kid – ENJOY! Grandmai is crying but it is a good thing. She iis
    happy for you. God is good

    Like

  3. You are an amazing writer. Reading this created such a vivid image and strong emotions about what you’re doing and going through and seeing and experiencing. I can’t wait to read more. I’m completely dumbfounded that you are so willing and adventurous to put yourself into uncomfortable situations. I would be curled up in the fetal position I think. I love you SO much and I am SO proud of you.

    Like

Leave a comment